CEEPUS – exchange program

Instructions for foreign students and teachers visiting the University of Banja Luka within the CEEPUS program

University of Banja Luka is a participant from 2008/2009 Academic year in the CEEPUS programme.

CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Program for University Studies became effective 1995 and today currently has 14 country members: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Hungary, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro and Czech Republic.

Legal basis for CEEPUS is an international agreement signed by member countries and it is open for acceding.

CEEPUS is based on reliable governance. The highest body that issues decisions in CEEPUS programme is the Joint Committee of Ministers which meets once a year and issues all strategic decisions.

Coordination, evaluation, development of programme and promotion are the main tasks of the Central CEEPUS Office consisted of only two persons. Each country has National CEEPUS Office responsible for implementation of programme in specific country. To avoid forming of the new administrative bodies, 

National CEEPUS Offices are integrated in already existed structures, usually in national agencies. In CEEPUS programme there is no transfer of assets, instead of that there is international flow of “one scholarship per month”. Each country pays it’s own COMING students and professors and it must guarantee at least 100 monthly scholarships for each academic year. CEEPUS agreement also provides that these grants are connected to the local living costs.

Each country has different amounts of scholarships. For detailed information see on the web site

Beside that, each country pays participation of travel costs of OUTGOING students and professors. 

The main activity of CEEPUS programme are university networks of operative joint programmes which in the ideal conditions will lead to the joint diplomas. CEEPUS covers grants of mobility’s for students and professors in described frameworks.

The main goals of CEEPUS are:

- Contributing to building the Europe and European Higher Education Area (EHEA)

- Using regional academic mobility as a strategic tool in implementation of Bologna goals For more information’s see on the web site